Paladian

By Paladian

One in a Million

This is a Valerian seed (Centranthus ruber 'Albus'). Don't you just love it's fragility? And the exquisite detail of the feathery fan which helps it fly from its parent plant into the great unknown.

Regretfully, beautiful as each individual seed is, I have left it too late to cut back - hence there is not just this one little seed, but approximately 1 million of its brothers and sisters just waiting to sprout in different parts of the garden.

It's my own fault - I left it there because it attracts butterflies - and I have had a couple of butterfly images from it. But oh the pain later on when I have to weed them all out. Not only do they grow by seed but also by suckers from their long tuberous roots.

It's very much a love/hate relationship with this plant.

See more feathery detail

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.