Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Singing in the living room

Why are these women beaming so? This is the new Colibri Ensemble, and we just completed nearly 3 hours of rehearsing in my living room, and nothing puts a smile on your face like a good, rigorous, productive practice session. We worked on our intonation, on our phrasing, on timing, on blending. We changed keys, then we changed them back, we kept moving around until the sound was just right (at least in my living room!). From right to left: Charlene/alto 2, Shareena/soprano 1, Ahwren/soprano 2, Karen/alto 1, and me/alto 2. Missing tonight was Ali/soprano 1.

For someone who had never been in chorus, or done much, if any, singing before, I now find myself singing all the time (with Colibri, or with Allegra, or with Rich, an amazing singer/songwriter/guitarist) and I'm thoroughly enjoying every second. It's addictive -- there must be a chemical released when you sing, allowing those cool musical vibes to course through your system.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.