I was...

...experimenting today with the gel plate and prints.

First of all I tried some hessian which worked nicely. So I did quite a few of those in different colour combinations. These will be the background for another print at some point in the near future.

I did use them for a few dried leaves and honesty I had, but they were disastrous. The leaves were too dry and stuck to brayer, gel plate, and the paper, and broke off in pieces.

I don’t often screw up failed things because I always think they can be used for something else, but not that lot.

There were 3 prints of the honesty that worked out but the resulting mess and time for clean up meant I don’t think I will try that again...at least not with dried honesty pods.

The six pics I chose for my Blip today are from two leaves from one of my silk flowers. There were no veins in them, and because they were fabric they gave a dotted effect. The other 3 leaves were some skeleton leaves. They were almost too delicate for this and it was hard to get a decent print from them.

The middle top picture had too much acrylic paint put on, and that was a pull to get the excess paint off before I tried to do a print from it. But I liked it very much! I see it as the beginnings of another picture to create from that...a half idea...

The top right print was a ghost print of the bottom left print.

They all need something more on them, maybe not much, but I can see a couple of them working with a few fine strokes (not with a paint brush) but with a thin piece of card or a palette knife...or I may brayer something else over them!!!

Popeye is doing well. He has a very good appetite, and is forever taking me to the kitchen for food and treats.

Thank you for all your beautiful comments and love.
Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.