Choose Joy

By Energia

Old friends and catching up

I did phone bank. The tech has advanced. Eight years ago you still had to dial the phone numbers and the recipients could see your phone number. Now the computer system calls for you and the recipients see Indivisible's phone number. The system just keeps calling and then when it gets through a script and name pop up on your screen. By the end the name was popping up too late. My last call a poor man answered and screamed that I had called him three times in the last 20 minutes and hung up all before his name even showed up on my screen. (I'm guessing that two people clicked the option saying no one had answered so the system just had people calling and calling.) Hopefully I'll have things working faster tomorrow. 

I saw several friends I haven't seen in enough years that we had to tell stories to catch up. Of course mine were particularly exciting. 

One of these friends is now a man. He may have been technically an adult when I was last in contact with him, but now he is truly grown up. He has a job that he has held for five years and a relationship he has maintained for four. He votes. His rent in New York is $4,500. He and his partner share the apartment but even so his rent is 2/3rds his pre-tax income. (!!!!!!!) 

The extra is from Lima

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.