" 'Arf A Mo Kaiser!"

I've seen on blip that disparate communities have put poppies on their lamp posts this year for the first time as it is one hundred years since the end of The Great War. I noticed them in High Wych as we drove through the village on our way to Aubrey Buxton nature reserve near Stansted. We had a pleasant walk in the woods but didn't see much wildlife.

On the way home I spotted this 'Tommy' on his bike, complete with 'Woodbine', in High Wych. Well done that community for honouring those who fought, suffered and died for our freedom. I found it very interesting reading about the 'Smokes For The Troops' fund. https://www.worldwar1postcards.com/smokes-for-the-troops.php I was moved to tears by some of the stories about The Great War on Antiques Roadshow this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.