The Cooking Crew

Well, half of us.

The six of us cooked (frantically) for two and a half hours. I was pulling big bowls and pots and dishes out of corners of the kitchen I didn't even know about as I tried to meet the requests of our Thai cooks and trying to have enough containers to hold food for 40 people. We finally loaded everything into the car just before 6:00, when dinner was supposed to start at our friend's house. Close enough to on time for us!

The Thai food menu was rice (of course) with panang curry (chicken and tofu), tom ka gai soup (chicken coconut soup), glass noodles with vegetables, and bua loi (rice flour balls and corn in sweet coconut milk) for dessert. A lot of coconut milk, and a lot of deliciousness!

On the way to the friend's house, I had this feeling we had forgotten something, but I couldn't figure out what. Once we had unloaded all the pots, I realized my feeling was right, two big pots had been forgotten...how we managed that, I can only attribute to our rush out of the house. Luckily people came to eat in two waves, and Dad was able to bring the food before the second wave of people arrived.

Overall, I'd say it was a big success. Everyone loved the food, and we inspired some of the other international students to cook next moth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.