Lake Road

After a fairly slow drive up through some very mucky weather, I arrived in Keswick at about 6. I got booked onto the campsite and just as I parked up on my pitch my phone rang. It was LooseCanon, who had arrived back at his place in Keswick after a tough day's walking. An image in his mind of steak and kidney pie and a pint at The Wainwright had kept him going and we arranged to meet there a little later.

I sorted  out the van for the night, brewed a cup of tea and I was ready and it's just a short walk into town. I claimed a nice table, got a pint and he and Technophobe arrived. We've had a good old chinwag, it's a while since we last met, and at about nine o'clock we parted company. I still had a blip to get. I thought I'd head down to the landing stages as I imagined there was a bit of light down there. I was wrong. I balanced my camera on the prow of a rowing boat, set a delay and waved a torch over the other boats for about a minute. I got a couple of pictures but with the little Olympus, they're incredibly noisy and not particularly interesting in colour or black and white.

On my way there I had stopped on Lake Street and taken a shot looking back up the street to The Wainwright and that's the one that's made it as my blip tonight. It makes a a change from the Moot Hall which so often becomes my blip on a late in the season arrival night.

I have a day to wander the area tomorrow before meeting the rest of the folks at Braithwaite tomorrow afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.