Canal Boat

.... or should it be barge?
A walk today along the Grand Union Canal by Grove Mill Lane in Watford.
I forgot how beautiful this walk is and have decided now to make it my destination for the next few days.
The trees have grown over the canal so much in some places that the boats need to navigate around them, it does make for fantastic reflections though and the colours are still pretty strong.
I was lucky enough to have the boat (or barge) in the photo follow me along the canal and when I got to the next bridge I was able to get a few photos. It looks recently restored and has had the paintings and graphics all redone, and it did look very smart.
I was hoping to get some photos of birds today and other than a lone coot I didn't think I would have any luck. I was walking back to the car and for some reason I turned around and there was a heron on the path behind me. Now I'm not great at taking photos of birds .... I've more chance of winning the lottery than get a photo of a bird in flight and if I happen to get any sort of bird picture it is by pure dumb luck .... and that is precisely how I got the extra photo that I proudly display on here.
I was also momentarily confused as I still had my new telephoto lens that I was experimenting with so that threw me ... but hey presto I got something (don't laugh!).
So I have been told that these birds are creatures of habit so if that is where it feeds then I'm going to be better prepared next time.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.