Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The Lake District - day 1

Last night we enjoyed looking at John’s photos of the Lake District from this time last year, to give us an idea of what to expect today. It was quite a late night so it is very good that breakfast is served at 9am and we could have a bit of a lie in! At breakfast John always suggests places to go to depending on the weather - the weather today was not great so we decided to head off to Buttermere.

It was extremely windy with dull light for the whole day, not the best conditions for taking photos. Still, we had fun taking some photos of the stream by the tea shop before we (partly) walked around Buttermere. In my image you can see the movement in the branches as it was so windy, and I liked this effect. We walked around the one side of Buttermere, stopping off regularly to take photos along the way. We also ate our packed lunch in a sheltered spot before continuing. I got a varied selection of photos from today, but the light was very disappointing and the wind meant you had to hang on to your tripod.

We finished off with teas and coffees in a tea shop before heading back to LPH. I had a bit of time to edit a few photos before supper, but the wifi has been playing up and it does not seem to work in my room, so I am uploading this from a hotspot off my phone.

Tomorrow the forecast is for rain all day :(   Not sure what we will be doing but I know John will have a plan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.