A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Welcome to Royston Vasey - you'll never leave

Long day at work - a colleague from another school came over for me to do some training with him. Bit of teaching. Lesson observation. Meeting after school.

Came home, with one of my friends from work following me, which is no mean feat trying to make sure that you don't lose someone, when they are following you on the M60 and M62 during rush hour traffic! Cooked tea for us and then we packed up the car and travelled 100 miles to Telford. Or rather, a little village called Coalbrookdale. This was in preparation for attending the Sports College Conference at the INternational Centre in Telford tomorrow.

The photo is the only pic I took that night - its of the interesting plumbing and bathroom decor that we encountered. I thought I should take snaps to show Corin!

We stayed in a little hotel, £60 for twin room, per night, and it was very strange. Its a pub / restaurant, which has subsequently added hostelry to its list of things that it does. As a restaurant it apparantly has a great reputation. As a hotel, it was weird.

The floor in the bedroom sloped at an angle of about 5-10 degrees. Which then meant that the beds did the same, meaning our heads were below the level of our feet. The beds were lumpy - the springs were very apparent! Not sure who did the decorating, but it left something to be desired. And the door frame was so low that even me, at 5 ft 4 in had to duck to get in!

We had one drink in the bar, but couldn't cope with the strangeness of the locals, and went to bed at around 10.30.

Poor Michelle was woken in the night by the bathroom tap dripping constantly. And I was nearly killed by the toilet seat which moved unexpectedly out from under me whilst I was doing my ablutions! Oh yeah, and the wash-handbasin in the bathroom was at the right height for James - stood up, the top of the basis was at mid-thigh height on me!

Sheets were clean - that was a bonus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.