View From the Hill

I decided to skip class this morning since it still hurt to stand, and I thought my time might be better spent calling the dermatology office to chat with them about why such a small wound was causing so much pain. I might as well have gone to class since nobody called me back, but I decided to meet my friend Nancy at the Flying Goat for an Aztec Mocha. Then the power went out...

OilMan was taking Ozzie for his walk, but I managed to get the garage door open without power. We looked into having a battery operated backup installed for the automatic opener since there were stories of people who couldn't get their cars out of their garages when they were fleeing the fires, but a battery backup costs $700. For that we figured we were still capable of opening our garage doors manually....  

By the time I got home, I still hadn't heard from the dermatology office, so I called again and they told me I should come in and have my leg looked at. Which meant another trip across town. When I got there the lovely Heather told me my leg looked "good" (although I certainly didn't think so), scrubbed  cleaned it, redressed it and told me to stay off my feet.. I was tempted to say that it was difficult to do that whilst driving back and forth across town, but I realized that that would have been ill tempered. I did ask why such a small wound caused so much pain and she shook her head and said something about the difficulty of leg wounds and the fact that she didn't think it was that small....

Home again, I realized that I had been so busy driving back and forth across town that I hadn't taken a single picture. It did occur to me that we have the perfect vista right outside our front door. I risked Heather's disapproval and walked up the stairs to the arbor for an even better view of the vineyards that climb up Wildwood Mountain. They are changing color right now along with the liquid amber in the garden right across the street. Autumn is really a beautiful time of year here in wine country...

In other news...it would have been nice if the Democrats had managed to take the Senate in yesterday's election, but at least they do have control of the House of Representatives, thanks largely to numerous newly elected, young women. Trump has now fired accepted the resignation  of the attorney general. The next two years will probably be spent in a tug-of-war over the future of Robert Muller's investigation into the interference of the Russians into the 2016 campaign, and nothing of substance will get done. If Trump were as innocent as he insists he is, one would assume that he would welcome an investigation to prove that. But if we have learned anything in the last two years, it is that, rather than "draining the swamp", the desire of this man is to keep the waters thoroughly muddied....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.