Woodland Fun(gi)

I’ve often said my blip comes to me and so often it really does. Tonight Matt & I were running wide games in Danemead Woods for Hertford District Scouts and we came across several different fungi whilst setting up the games in the dark.

This magical mushroom is easily one of the most well known, but very rarely do I see one so I was absolutely delighted to find this Fly Agaric.

The one in extras is harder to identify. It was in very old deciduous woodland. My first thought was Hoof Fungus (Tinder Fungus) but that’s grey, as was the example posted by NothingGetsLost a few days ago. Mine’s very brown.

O’Reilly says there a similar one that’s brown (Formitopsis pinicola) but it’s rare, found on conifers and the white band underneath is narrow, whereas mine is thick like a hoof as seen on Willow Bracket. Willow bracket is my best guess but that’s also generally grey.

Meanwhile the Scouts had a lot of fun in the woods with our games, a bonfire, hot dogs and sparklers... and I’m very happy to have seen two Fly Agarics.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.