NellieD

By NellieD

Plastic recycling

I made the last tip run today - hurray!! I've used that much shaving foam on my green fingers, my husband will think I'm having an affair as I certainly smell quite manly!

My drive to the tip didn't disappoint again as I saw this display outside the local church. When I looked closely, the poppies were all made out of plastic bottles. It certainly makes them weather proof! Almost every poppy had a name and a date on it from the First World War. Seeing a sea of names, certainly makes you pause for thought and give thanks.

My mum called last week to ask what I could tell her about my great grandad, her grandad, as I spent years researching our family tree. A distant cousin's daughter is doing a school project and they were all asked to remember a soldier from their family.

My mum was always told he was shot in the leg by a dum dum bullet and a German soldier cut his leg off on the battlefield to save his life. When you read his records however, he was shot in France in October 2017, captured and transferred to a prisoner of war camp in Germany where he had his leg amputated the following March. How stories can change over the years!

In any event, he carried the bullet in his trouser pocket until the day he died.

Poem for today:
But pleasures are like poppies spread,
You seize the flower, it's bloom is shed;
Or, like the snow-fall in the river,
A moment white, then melts forever.
- Robert Burns

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.