NellieD

By NellieD

50 things

Last year I decided to make a '50 things to do before I'm 50' list. Some things are pretty small like watch an opera (tick), be in the audience of a TV show (tick) and have a psychic reading (tick) whereas others will take me a lot longer such as learning British Sign Language (tick) and playing the guitar (which I've at least now bought).

Quite a few things revolve around the number 50 ... watch 50 TED talks, read 50 books recommended to me by people I know and ask 50 people to tell me what they think is an important life lesson. If you follow my journal, you will know I like quotes and positive affirmations!

At crochet club last night, we were talking about my redundancy and how I'm not a lady of leisure as I've never been so busy! The new project I've taken on to yarn bomb the theatre trees was a great way to use up all our leftover granny squares ... but then I found myself offering to go along to help stitch them all together.

I'm overwhelmed with stuff at the moment as I'm working on a pretty big project with the food bank which meant I 'volunteered' from home all day today and didn't leave the house. A quick photo of my book will have to suffice for today. I certainly didn't need to take on something else but YES seems to be my default response. 

I will always do what I can to help someone else but perhaps I should learn to start saying no on occasion, or at least 'let me get back to you on that' so that the three letter word doesn't automatically jump out. Funnily enough, I saw a poster yesterday that said 'have the courage to say no' - and I'm planning to blip that when I'm not in my car! Perhaps I should print it out as a reminder.

When Grace said to me that there is nothing wrong with being selfish every now and then, I knew she had to write it in my book for me.  Only 40 more people to ask!!

Quote for today:
Make yourself a priority once in a while. It's not selfish, it's necessary.
- Karen A Baquiran

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.