Greyfriars

I ended up with a bit of a gap today as it turned out my schools group were all on study leave. It was quite handy as I had a couple of bits and pieces to grab from town anyway. As I was wandering around I ended up on Candlemaker Row. This was good for a couple of reasons. Firstly I spotted this view through the gates at the bottom end of Greyfriars Kirkyard and got aq blip for the day, Secondly I spotted the Portfolio Gallery. They have a book sale on for the next couple of days (12 - 6 both tomorrow and Saturday) there are loads of interesting looking photography books with sizeable amounts of money off them. I didn't have any spare cash on me or I would have bought a few. If you're in Edinburgh and anywhere near Candlemaker Row tomorrow or Saturday you should pop in and have a look. They are also doing selected half price back issues of Portfolio magazine.

In other news today one of the students let me get my grubby hands on his 5D Mk2. Don't get me wrong it's not the biggest camera I've played with as I've had a shot of a few different cameras in the 1D range. I was well impressed with the 5D Mk2 though. Far more practically sized than the 1D but it feels good and solid. I reckon I'll definetely shell out for one after the summer holidays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.