Missed opportunity

One of my students was helping his girlfriend move house last week and came across a collection of cameras. He already whifted one, a Pentax Asahi SLR with 4 lenses. Unfortunately he shifted it through Gumtree and the buyer faked Paypal payment so the Police are having to get involved.

Anyway the most interesting one to me was this Yashica Mat TLR. I've quite fancied getting a TLR fora while now. My initial thought was for TTV photography but a work colleague pointed out a far better use. We sell the 120 film this takes in the college at a very reasonable price so what the colleague suggested was that I could shoot on film first thing in the morning, process the film in our darkroom since we have all the chemicals and kit there then cut out the shots I want and stick them in the Epson film scanners we have since these will take 6x6 negatives and scan them at a high resolution. In addition to that I can always buy paper in the college, also fairly cheaply, and use the enlargers any time I want.

Unfortunately when he brought it in today he was looking for £80 for it. I've seen them go for cheaper on ebay so £80 just wasn't viable. Particularly since it needed a good clean up (both lenses were fairly grubby and the viewfinder looked to have a scratch on it), and the magnifier for the viewfinder was missing. A mint one might be worth £80 to me but not this one.

Still I've got a taste for it now so I'll keep trawling ebay for either a better or cheaper priced example.

Of course if anyone on here reckons they're happy to pay that money for it let me know and I can give you the guys details.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.