Broken Britain

Friday!

But an office day because I’d taken Tuesday as my free weekday so I could go to Lockerbie.

It was a bit chaotic at times. The Boss was around for much of the day. The Teenager came in (with her dog) to say hello after 2 months away at university in Stirling. The Ingolstadt Intern (not to be confused with the Phoenix Intern) produced a sister off a flight from Hamburg (although she lives in Bremen) so they took up a bit of space which wasn’t really there.

I tried to work, but with all this going on I struggled. 

I bought two newspapers this morning - some kind of record - and got a strange look for not buying the Hootsmon, Daily Diana or Daily Heil like everyone else. 

I was instructed that under no circumstances am I to put foreign coins in the Poppy Police collection box lurking in the office. With DNA testing available I would be traced and punished severely. 

Anyway, glad it’s the weekend now even although it will be a short one.

The New European is interesting. I enjoy reading the shock and outrage of folk from places like Hove and St Albans suddenly realising how Their Country is going to the dogs, how awful the BBC is, and what a sleazy wee crook Farage has turned out to be. Some have even looked at Google Maps to see what Ireland looks like. 

For someone who has been immersed in political campaigning non stop for 5+ years, it all seems like old news and slightly sad. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.