Thank Goodness For Clouds

As I looked out the large Velux window in our bedroom this morning I could see nothing. The first hard frost of the Winter had covered it with icy crystals and I had to open it to see outside.

It was a beautiful crisp morning and I could hear the Curlews flying above the beach welcoming the new day. Only problem was the sky was almost clear of clouds, which didn't augur well for a colourful sunrise. I took my time to shower and dress before heading downstairs. It was now ten minutes before the sun would break the horizon and a few small puffy clouds had moved in on the northerly breeze.

I headed outside with the camera and wandered down to the estuary taking a few shots as I went. However, there were few clouds about. As the tide was out I walked down to the beach and the edge of the sea where more blips of the developing sunrise were taken. There were a few more clouds about as the sun broke over the southern end of Arran, but nothing to help create the shot I was after. I started walking back to the house and as I got to my original position noticed that the sun was now partly hidden by some clouds on the horizon. More importantly though, larger clouds had moved further south and were being reflected beautifully off the river. It was time for the shot I had in mind. Quite a contrast from the earlier shot taken from almost the same position!

Blip has certainly opened my eyes to the beauty of clouds!

PS - Many thanks to Croftcrafts for helping resolve my Velux blip difficulties.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.