Eden

at Lacy’s Caves.
Such a grand river and although it was very peaceful today the power of the sheer volume of water moving fast and silently was deeply palpable. I’m sure I saw a kingfisher.
A real mix of a day. Cleaning this morning, under the bed! I had a real deja vue moment of all the countless times I have spent under Wordsworth’s bed. Then chopped some wooden blocks that were still under the bed from when we raised the head end to try to help breathing. Time for them to go.
Fresh air was in order so on my way to do a shop I planned a walk in the lakes but it looked murky so I went up to Coombe Wood. I’d forgotten how dull it can be and still miss Nunnery walks so I changed my mind and headed for Lacy’s Caves and was magnetically drawn to Chapel Well on my way there ...intriguing spot and today there was a bowl in it. Looks like it has been visited..if it weren’t for the sheep poo I’d have been tempted.

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2365965104387720686

As usual, cleaning is a dangerous occupation. Today I came across a book of poems of Denise Levertov’s - ‘Oblique Prayers’ on the other side of the bed. Here’s one from the volume. What a poem.

The Mourner - Denise Levertov

Instead of arms to hold you
I want longer limbs, vines,
to wrap you twofold, threefold.

I wrap you, I pick you up, I carry you,
your knees drawn up, your head bent,
your arms crossed on your breast.

You are heavy.
I walk, I walk.
You say nothing.

Onward. Hill and dale. Indoors.
Out again. You say nothing.
You grow smaller, I wrap you fourfold.

I show you all the wonders you showed me,
infinitesimal and immense.
You grow smaller, smaller,
and always heavier. Why will you not speak?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.