Big Hill

By bighill

Back to some pastels...

this piece has gone thro many morphs....and it's been sitting on the easel now for a few weeks.....i have been so caught up in the cold wax/oil process that i have neglected the pastels.   I've had a nice slow weekend so far......weather not being conducive to being outside.... it has been either raining, snowing, very windy and cold....but mostly all at once!!!!   so haven't ventured out much, missing a good walk!

I was starting to feel kinda isolated and untrusting of my process with the wax/oil process so i enlisted my dear friend Diana Sanford to be my mentor.  We had our first session yesterday and it helped so much!  To be able to self analysis your work you really need to get used to looking at your work more objectively!   I feel like i'm at that point in my process....used to be too scared to ask for outside critique.....it's been a long time since i was in art school and have gotten out of that habit!  But with Diana, whose work i admire, and whose process i feel aligned with....plus she's a trusted friend....it all seems to fit together! 

not sure if this one is done...but i'm leaving it here...and going back to reading Outlander!!!!

Just had a look at my 'last years' image here ....and it is so interesting that i start that blip off with my observation that houses seem to be playing a big part in my mark making vocabulary....seems like a year later i'm still onto that theme in a way.   actually, i'm also seeing castle like fortifications here ..... opps, too much time spent in the 18th century in Scotland perhaps :P

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.