My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

The reason for my madness

While Owen was in surgery for his TOF repair. We all waited down in the foyer of the hospital for news. As we were down there I saw an advert asking for people to run the Manchester Half Marathon on behalf of the hospital with a minimum of £200 to raise.

"I can do that! " I thought, I think I just wanted to feel like I was doing something.

So today was the day! With hardly any training or sleep I headed over to the hospital to say goodbye to Owen, Aaron and Louisa and made my way to Old Trafford.
As I stood at the start line I felt terrible, headachey and tired, But I knew I had to drag myself round, for the hospital, the people who sponsored me, myself and most of all for Owen. It was one of the hardest halves I've done, both physically and mentally. The typical Mancunian weather didn't help either but the support was great and I managed to get round in 1:43:20.
The promise of a 'brew' and munchies at the end courtesy of the RMCH charity people obviously helped.

Also thanks to my friend Antony for waiting in the rain at the finish for me and then taking me into Manchester for lunch and a much needed chat.

Of the minimum £200 I've actually managed to raise over £1000 so far...gobsmacked doesn't begin to describe how I feel!
https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/paul-jakeways1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.