100 Years

I left Christina's at 9am and unfortunately when I got to my car which was parked a little further down the road, I saw that there was damage to the bumper, side panel and wheel arch.  And whoever had done it had driven off without leaving their details!  I was absolutely fuming, and this afternoon have phoned the local Police who have told me to fill in a report online, and Chris has posted a photograph on her local village group to see if anyone saw anything.

I had a good journey home and was back in Brighton just before 12pm and I went to see this house not far from us.  The lady that owns it had wanted a mural painted on the back of her house and hired a local graffiti artist who's also done numerous paintings inside her house - one of which is a 3D Zebra!

Anyway, as it's 100 years since the end of the war, she decided she wanted something to remember the service people and animals who lost their lives, and this is what the artist came up with, isn't it amazing? She posted some photos of it on The Saltdean Zone which I'm an editor of, and said she was happy for people to go and see it.  It's a shame she didn't plan it sooner, as she could have had a collection for the British Legion.

I didn't get to see any of the memorial services in Brighton due to the three hours spent driving, but tonight I went to the Marina where they had a projection onto the cliff face of a soldier with poppies falling, it was very poignant.

I’ve added a photo to my extras of my Uncle Jim’s war grave in Leopoldsberg, Belgium.  He was my late Aunty Nan’s first husband killed in the Battle of Hasselt aged 24 years old.  Such young lives lost -  we will remember them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.