Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Whoosh!

That kind of describes how I feel about the last 11 days - whoosh, and they were gone.  I have seen so many incredible, wonderful creatures on this trip, and had so many laughs and adventures with friends old and new.  And, I am sad to be saying goodbye to Costa Rica, but also very much looking forward to seeing Hubs.  Also, it will be nice sleeping in my own bed again with no fear of creepy crawly things scampering around the room.  

This morning, most of us were up at the crack of dawn (which happens about 5:30 AM) and out on the deck with cameras in hand.  About 500 photos later, I had finally gotten the shot I wanted - a Cinnamon Hummingbird hovering at a flower.  This was a difficult hummer to photograph because he didn't stay at any flower for more than a few moments and was frequently hidden by foliage.  So, I am pleased with my final blip from Costa Rica.

The Cinnamon Hummer is only found in a small area of CR, so being able to see and photograph this one was extra special.

One of my fellow Blippers, Osuzanna, had a very exciting experience last evening when she found a scorpion in her room.  HillyBlips ran to reception (grabbing me on the way with the hurried instructions "grab your camera and get to Suzanne's room - massive scorpion" while Suzanne stood guard in hopes that the fearsome creature wouldn't scamper away and hide somewhere in the room.  Soon enough, an amused looking young man from the lodge came along with a dust pan and scooped the intruder up, releasing him outdoors where he belonged. Must say, I was checking every square inch of my room before getting into bed last night!

I suspect tomorrow's blip will be something very mundane, most likely straight out of my phone as I'll be traveling much of the day.  Thanks again for joining me in this wonderful adventure!  And please check out the #CR18 tag for all the other shots from our group.  

Hasta luego
Debbi

PS:  I changed out my shot for 9 Nov to a slightly different view of the Crested Caracara in flight.  I hope you like it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.