We Will Remember

It has been quite an emotional day.
The 100th anniversary of WW1 ending with all the loss of life - both human and animal - has been very special.  There is wonderful literature that stemmed from WW1 - so much poetry written by those at the 'front' as well as novels written recently. Try reading 'Private Peaceful' by Michael Morpurgo without tears in the eyes at the end,  I used this novel as a reader for Year 7 and produced it as a play. I could not read the ending out loud - the girls and I were sobbing, the boys had to read it themselves!!! And for the play, with a Wilfred Owen poem being read and a trumpeter playing the Last Post, I even had the Headmaster in tears!!

Today I joined in with every tower in the country ringing the local church bells for Armistice (even though I rarely ring these days) and then took a few photos in the church and churchyard.  I thought the perspex cutouts - one for every villager killed during the war - was a stunning idea and made it a reality.  The soldier outlines which have been countrywide are superb and a stark  reminder of the trauma of the war,

I also had email contact with a family who lost their son recently and I was privileged to capture their last moments with him before care was withdrawn.  I have been able to send them a few images as they prepare for his funeral.  He was so small but so perfect, and there was so much love in the room for this tiny being; it was a humbling experience to share the last moments of this child with his family,

On a happier note, today is my husband's birthday. We celebrated this evening with a roast lamb dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.