Veterans

Each year on this day, I head downtown to meet up (and photograph) our vets. And on the way to the monuments, I stop at a side street, where a group of vets have come together for many years now to reconnect and shoot the breeze over a barbecue.  In fact, I am now getting a friendly reminder from one of them to let me know that they will be there and to ask whether I'll show up :)

They are a good bunch of guys, so much so, that the staid Federal Reserve guys let them use their side street (in fact, they block it off for them) so that they are able to get together.  Knowing the Washington bureaucracy, that's no small feat!

I like going downtown and chatting with theses guys (yes, still mostly guys) on this day as it offers a nice counter balance to the other significant event of the day: the anniversary of my brother's suicide...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.