Remembrance

Every year, on Nov 11  and Memorial days, I head downtown to meet up with veterans. For the past three years, I've bumped into the same group of Marines who gather for these two occasions in the same spot around a barbecue. They come from all corners of the US but they all served together in Vietnam and this is their chance to reconnect.

At this point, they recognize me and today, I was greeted with a "there you are! We were wondering if you'd stop by again!" I gave them prints of the pix I took last year and we had a wonderful conversation -- there are a very gregarious group! My husband came with me as I'd been talking about that group and he chatted about being a Marine (his dad served in the Pacific Rim).

It's a feel-good activity for me, esp on Nov 11, which happens to be the anniversary of my brother's suicide -- 11 years now. I miss him as much as ever: so many memories we could have made together and that will never be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.