An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The 'Olde' Hospital....

Yes, this is actually Salisbury's General Infirmary, our main medical hospital, until the early 90's. Now that's set up on a hill, 2 miles away, sprawling over 100's of acres.

Was trying to take a series showing our community, within the confines of set key-words, all having to be taken in November. I found out about it just three days ago (& just three to go). Supposed to be a competition with a calendar and a Flickr showcase, but rules are that images are NOT edited and must be jpegs!

So, this entry under 'heritage' (it's now a gated community for the well-off elderly) has been EDITED from the RAW file and so is not eligible, at least for that. But for Blip, I just 'found' myself making it all wonderfully - and stereotypically Hammer Gothic like!

I had tried to photograph this before with an ultrawide (14mm on FX format) and it just didn't work. Now that those spooky trees have lost their leaves accentuating them with the fisheye lens (but on the wrong camera, the DX cropped D7000 with a full-frame 16mm fisheye) and kneeling on the pavement as passers-by thought I was possessed by the devil, I finally got a composition that worked, the wrap-around of the trees holding it in.

So, after lightening the image, then extracting shadow detail, I added a heavy vignette, to give that creepy, twilight look. I then reduced the overall contrast a lot to flatten it and then selectively altered the colour hue of the sky only.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.