I Give Up!

Dear Diary,

So much for my squirrel proof feeder!  Gaylord finally broke in, nibbled his way through a bar that is supposed to prevent access and had a field day.  He can only go so far though, fat boy that he is, but Rudy slid right down inside!  I thought I was going to have to perform a squirrel rescue but he managed to turn himself around and wiggle out.  Sigh...

I also have to bring in the suet cakes at night as someone was raiding the holder and eating it all...bear, racoon, who knows.  I tried putting a wire mesh ladle over the top of the feeder, my grandmothers used to strain vegetables, to keep them out but Gaylord figured that out in 10 minutes.  So, you win.  I capitulate.  The war is over but it is sure fun watching them break through my diversionary tactics!  Hmmm, what about a really large cork?  I wonder how long it would take them to nibble through?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.