Garden cams

I was asked to recommend a good setup a few days ago. That's not easy, but I will recommend the software that I use. The starting version of this is called icatcher wildlife. This uses motion detection to trigger the saving of images on the computer. I use the Console version now, which lets me record from 8 cameras to a single computer, but the principle is the same. Today's blip shows the cameras that look out of the window at the bird feeders, the bird bath and the pond They are all old camcorders bought from eBay very cheaply. I also have cameras in bird boxes, which are tiny security cameras, and some not quite so tiny waterproof security cameras with night vision which sit at various places outside in the garden.  I've blipped some of them in the past - with magpies, hedgehogs, a robin, and some earwigs, and also one that I had dismantled.

Compared with modern digital cameras, the photo quality is not very good because of the limitations of the computer capture process, but it's great to be able to check what is happening in the garden at any time of day.

To be continued.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.