NellieD

By NellieD

Let a book light up your path

I went to speak to the Contact Theatre this morning about their show in December and the yarn bombed trees they want for the stage. They were thrilled with all the granny squares I was able to donate from a previous ill-fated project and I was thrilled to have the space back in my craft room! I can now fill it with more wool, books ... or random tat!!

The Contact Theatre is currently being refurbished so they are in a temporary home until 2020. I spotted one of these BookBenches in the foyer and thought I would take a quick photo as I've blipped most things at the foodbank - and knew a busy day volunteering was on the cards. 

Similar to the Bee in the City trail, the 58 BookBenches were placed across Manchester in 2017 and were decorated by children and community groups who took their inspiration from books and reading.

The BookBenches were part of the Read Manchester campaign from Manchester City Council and the National Literary Trust.  This bench is called "make your voice heard" and is at the Moss Side Powerhouse Library.

Books are, and always have been, a huge part of my life. I used to go to the local library every week and would read as I walked home as I just couldn't wait to start the new book. I still walk and read - when I'm not on a main road I might add!  I have all my old Enid Blyton books and don't think I could ever part with them. 

I always wanted to be a librarian but running a book club is a great alternative.  They started off as people who came along to my book club night but I'm now so lucky to call some of them my closest friends - and that's all because of books.

Quote for today:
Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.
- Mason Cooley

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.