NellieD

By NellieD

Don't be afraid of your shadow

How did I ever find time to go to work?!

It's the food bank's big celebration on Thursday so I needed finish the brochure I've been making - and it's all now printed and sat in a box. Hurrah! It's lovely to think that your skill set can benefit others - even when you think all you've done is some typing and worded things nicely. 

Volunteering has been an eye opening experience. It's physically much harder than I had ever imagined and emotionally tough because of the stories I hear. I know it's worth the effort though and I've not even started to think about looking for another job yet. Perhaps I'll start looking in the New Year and work there till Christmas!

So many people come through the doors every day with donations that it really does make you realise there's so much good in the community. One lady came in and we used to work in the same department over 20 years ago. She reads my posts about the food bank and came in with bags of gifts for their December appeal. Such a lovely gesture! 

It's a standing joke that when they ask how they heard about the food bank they'll say, from Helen! That's the beauty of running two groups with a combined membership of 1000 people, I have a pretty big network of the most amazing people behind me.

The weed caught my eye this morning - or rather it's shadow against the blue fence did. I thought it might be Mares Tail, which our garden was riddled with, but I could be wrong. When we first bought our house I asked my grandma, a keen gardener, how to get rid of them and her remedy was "move house".

Quote for today:
Don't be afraid of your shadow; it's really just a constant reminder that there's light all around you.
- Rachel Wolchin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.