Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Crash landing

That is what today felt like - a crash landing back into reality.  When I looked out this window this morning, instead of seeing parrots, macaws, honeycreepers and toucans...I saw my plain-jane backyard birds.  Not only that, but when I stepped outside, instead of humid, warm tropical air...I was hit in the face with temps in the 30's F and rain.  Only one thing to do under those circumstances, and that is to have a nice long chat with parents with a cup of tea in hand.  

After downloading the first day of Costa Rica pics, I headed outside with the camera with the goal of shooting something...anything... for today's blip.  Handily, there were blue jays, nuthatches, titmice and sparrows in abundance.  And, since I am particularly fond of nuthatches I decided to take the easy shot.  As I was upstairs doing some quick edits on this, two nuthatches landed on the window sill of my sanctuary and started flaring their wings at each other in a show of tiny bravado.  So cute.  Not honeycreeper-cute, but still cute.

I am very fatigued today (not surprising after so many days of sensory overload) so am going to have a nap.  Charlie is extremely clingy, so I'm sure he'll be napping with me.  

I hope to spend some time tonight and tomorrow on the CR pics and will start uploading my top selections to Flickr.  Stay tuned...

Adios...
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.