My Little Window

Very indoor sort of day today, which felt a bit frustrating. I struggle, at the moment, to find satisfaction in the mundaneness of washing clothes, sweeping, mopping, airing the bedding, rehanging the washing when the line breaks, cooking, washing up, clearing out the fridge, killing flies, clearing up the dead flies and on and on... Oh, by the way, they liked the crumble last night, hurray, probably because I put a load of ground almonds in the crumble part, all desserts here have ground almonds.

I loved making a home when we first married, and seemed a point when our kids arrived, to create a place of beauty for them, and for all the guests - but now it's just us two again, though think it's more that this place is still so unfinished... Mike spent the day digging out the trench at the back to channel the water away from the house - necessary, but does nothing to make the place look better.

Read what I thought was an important article: The Plastic Backlash. Tried many years ago to live without plastic and decided it was impossible, but going to try again to do what is feasible. 

And prepared for my first catechism class, as in teach it, and me not even a Catholic... tonight at 21h.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.