Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Bookshop

The book for book club today ……and I have no other pictures, so here ‘tis, with 3 of the 8 of us there today at M’s (lower right) retirement home where we had a lovely lunch and catch up...(.a lot goes on with these amazing old ladies)....in a little dining room before discussing the book in her apartment.   I also read Hermione Lee’s biography of the author Penelope Fitzgerald which I really enjoyed.   Short and witty , if sad, Penelope’s first novels are biographical  (she did work in a bookstore in a small seaside town) ..She didn’t start publishing until she was almost 60 .  This one and one other was short-listed for the Booker Prize which her “Offshore” won.   I appreciate how there don’t seem to be extra words…. and she makes me laugh!   The recent movie is another story with a more uplifting conclusion…and NO poltergeist!   I”m not sure Penelope would have approved.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.