biddy

By biddy

Goldfinches on the niger seed feeder.

The sun was warm at the top of the garden later this morning, out of the shade of the house. The back of the house faces North. Our parcel arrived later than expected so I had to stay indoors until then. 
Hubby had gone into the office earlier. 
 I was taking some vegetable peelings up to the "Tardis" compost bins, (as we call them!) 3 large ones behind the shed. Then stopped part way as I could see several goldfinches on the feeder which hangs off the Liquid Amber maple. 
Retracing my steps I grabbed my camera and took a few photos. This one turned out to be the best of the bunch. 
 I sat in the summerhouse for a little while afterwards just watching them. The occasional squabble broke out. They are such delightfully colourful birds. 
   After a bite to eat I went to collect my friend, as I do each Thursday afternoon, to take her out for a coffee and a sandwich. Her speech wasn't as good today. 
     Once back home late afternoon as it was growing dusk I was once again thankful for my independence. 
Hubby arrived home just before I drew up on our driveway. 
    He is now assembling the desk, which arrived earlier, up in the loft bedroom. I am typing this and listening to Tchaikovsky's 1st Piano Concerto on the radio.  I marvel that these  composers have had so much music in their heads which is translated to a score. Incredible gift. 
Evening lamps and candle lit. Extra of lamp and autumn leaves. 


            

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.