biddy

By biddy

Bumble bees in November!

If you look closely at this photo you will see a bumble bee. It was near it's nest which was in a hole in the ground. I was clearing and tidying in the garden this morning as it was a mild damp day. I have some late bulbs still to plant. 
Working in what passes for a rockery I disturbed a  bumble bees' nest. There were about 4 that I counted coming and  going, and no, it wasn't the same one. I counted them all as  they flew up initially by my garden boots.      
 I was fascinated and did not get much done for awhile as I watched them entering with their pollen sacs filled and leaving again to go and forage. There are so many late blooming plants in the gardens this year that they would have plenty to find to store away for the winter. 
    The photo in extras is a couple of teddy bears. The story behind them being that the last time we were in Bristol our 5 year old granddaughter, Libby, gave them to us to bring home to look after, until such time as she and her mum, dad and siblings come to stay once more. Short account this evening as I am just a bit under the weather and think l am losing my voice! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.