Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

From sun birds to snow birds...

It's hard to conceive that on Sunday morning I was shooting hummers, monkeys, macaws and motmots and today I'm "enjoying" the first snow of the year!  This is very early for snow here in our part of the country and I'm really not ready.  Current projection is for 3-6 inches followed by a thin coating of ice.  Yuck.

So today's offering is one of our winter residents, the Dark-eyed Junco, a member of the Sparrow family.  They breed north of here, returning late each October to spend the winter.  Today there were over 20 at and under the feeders.  I had the hide set up on the patio so was able to poke my lens out and grab some shots.  And now I'm inside warming up while I continue to edit photos from Costa Rica.  Oh, what I wouldn't give to be back in that tropical heat right now!

I am currently working on Day 6 of the CR trip - so many photos to sort through and so many birds and creatures to identify.  I think I am nearly done with the reptiles and amphibians, so if you'd like to have a look, Click HERE.  I will probably add a few more shots as I see I've not yet gotten to the Iguana shots...

Cheers!
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.