Plus ça change...

By SooB

Smart

CarbBoy’s parents evening tonight. Clacking across the school foyer he pointed out: “you’re wearing heels” and “they’re making a really loud noise”. They were, actually, making a perfectly normal amount of noise for shoes, but we were the only people walking across the foyer at the time. The heels, as I explained, are a trick I play on myself at times when I am feeling low on confidence in a particular situation: I wear smart shoes (and the rest of me was well turned out too) so that people will see a confident person and, accordingly, I get to act like one. This, when you’re made to talk in French to a French teacher, is important.

As it happens, his teachers adore him, so it was an easy night (though a late one - with appointments running 45 minutes behind time). There are some very perturbing things going on around here, so being told that one thing is going great was very happy-making.

Earlier, there was more fence provisioning (subject to tomorrow’s audit, I think that’s done now) and some falling out over stuff I don’t want to fall out over. Later a very long conversation with my Mam during which I think I may have agreed to give a talk on law to the WI.

A few bright spots in a day when everything otherwise looked pretty bleak. Tomorrow I may just hide under my duvet all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.