Quite a “Dogs Tail”!

I had a very distressed neighbour call by late this morning to tell me in fluent Russian that their little dog had gone missing. Now let me tell you that their dog is one of the tiniest little dogs I’ve ever met. I always thought her name was Maxine, so for a couple of hours I was sure that Maxine was in strife. This is not the type of dog to go wandering off into the bush. When we returned from our lunch at Mt Victoria I dropped CCN and Ann and Bob off at the house and then drove over to see if Maxine had been found. ..........Now if you’re reading this journal, stay with me, it gets even better!! I knocked on the door and low and behold there was Maxine, Woohoo, was I excited. That was until I found out from my Russian friend Valentina who told me in fluent Russian that the little dogs name was not Maxine but Martin!! Honestly I coudn’t stop laughing, and thankfully Valentina couldn’t stop laughing either. .........Hold on there’s more. It turns out and this is coming from me who doesn’t know a word of Russian that Martin had wandered out onto the dirt road that is Shipley Road and been picked up by a passer by who very kindly took Martin to a vet who also very kindly check her chip to find out the name of the owners. A couple of phone calls later and Valentina was able to be reunited with her beloved Martin. Well of course my blip had to be a photo of this adorable little dog. I gave it the biggest cuddle and Martin cuddled me right back. My neighbours are just the warmest and generous people and I wasn’t allowed to leave until they had loaded up a plate containing half their lunch which included Russian Herring, boiled potato, Russian Sausage and a very delicious Russian salad. I was then taken on a tour of the hot house where all of their wonderful exotic Russian vegetables are thriving before being allowed to leave. Isn’t life wonderful, it was such a lovely experience and don’t you just love Martin :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.