My Attempts

By Bernydoll

My lovely dad.

Today is my handsome, loving, hardworking, fun dad’s birthday, he’s been gone 19 years now and I miss him dreadfully. A man to rely on. A man to trust. A man to love, and be loved by. He’s in the centre of the bottom photo, taken in early 50s with two of his brothers. Brian on the right of the shot left for Australia the day after this photo was taken. They never saw each other in the flesh again, staying in touch by airmail, none of them had money for that type of travel, Brian went to Australia on the £10 ticket, sadly he died young in 1975, the same year as their 87 year old mother. The other brother in the photo is Tony, he died young too, in 1984. There was another brother John, he never left Ireland and lived till he was 82. The top photo is my Mum and Dad on their wedding day in 1948, Mum passed away the year of their Golden Wedding Anniversary and Dad followed her a year later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.