Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Black and white grey squirrel

I popped down onto the green for a quick squirrel hunt on my way into town this morning, before too many kids and dogs made the whole game impossible.  Of the half dozen mature sweet chestnuts at least 3 are now almost completely bare of leaves, 2 still have quite a few, and the slightly stunted one in the middle has some but not many.  If you want to see the colours of this glorious day, a section of that last tree is in Extras.

This squig, frozen to the branch,  is my SillySaturday entry.  S/he had just come down the main trunk to the small side shoots right at the bottom and didn't realise I was there.  Normally, if this happens they freeze to the trunk and make like a knot in the bark.  Quite a successful strategy.  Unfortunately this one had left it too late, so couldn't possibly be mistaken for anything but a squirrel.  Especially as the branch was so squinny.  It was quite a funny moment.  S/he blinked first and shot off back up the tree chattering.

So yes, I know that's three squiggle shots in 8 days, but I feel we won't see much more of them for another year.  Such fun.  Worth buying the 400 ml lens just for this ;))

On a less happy note, I then did get into town to buy my son's birthday present.  First day of the Christmas Market.  OMG, the town was so packed you couldn't move.  Horrible!  Bah, humbug!!

Thanks so much to the wonderful Admirer for hosting this challenge - and enjoy your Saturday nights, lovely blippers  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.