Sunrise at Tynemouth

My Editor is away for the weekend, visiting her Mum, so I thought this would be a good chance to go out early(ish) to catch the sunrise as I wouldn't be disturbing her (at least at this time of year one doesn't have to wake up at very silly o'clock for this purpose!).

I checked the weather forecast and reckoned that there was a reasonable chance of good conditions today. I chose to go to Tynemouth as I've never taken sunrise shots there. I started chatting to another photographer who was there before me and we commiserated with each other when a dark cloud came over.  He was just packing his camera away, having given up, when I called to him that the sun had appeared! So we both stood there clicking away for some time.

I think the photo I've blipped is my favourite but I've put a few more on Google Photos here - it's the first time I've used Google Photos so please tell me if the link doesn't work for you. (I note that flickr is soon going to start charging if you want more than 1,000 photos stored there, and indeed will soon start deleting photos if you've more than that - be warned!). This includes a few shots of a kestrel which was hovering nearby for some time - sadly it always had its back to me, and the light was poor, so they're not the best quality. I was amazed at how it could stay almost perfectly still in spite of a signifcant wind - nature is amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.