Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Pigs might fly

After basic chores had been completed, I ventured out again with Faith in my bag, hope in my heart and charity on my mind. I returned to last night's unanswered door and rang the bell. The door was answered by a familiar delightful young new dad who ushered me in to meet the baby, its mother and her parents remained unanswered. I found another two lanes, each with a correct door number; the first of which was answered by a lovely woman who told me that nobody in her lane had a brand new baby, they were all a bit older, but I could try the next lane along, which I did, and again received no answer at the door. Perhaps 12:30 on a Sunday is not the right time to be trying people's doorbells.

But the sun was out and it was fun to take the camera out for a walk.

When I returned home I found that somebody had left a key in the street door. What to do? Had they just popped out, soon to return? Had they left it there on their way in loaded up with shopping? I nipped round to the shop on the corner to see if any of my neighbours were in there, but they weren't. I didn't care to leave the key in the door where any passer by might choose to put it in their pocket, and neither did I want to go knocking on all my neighbours' doors – I'd had quite enough of that for one morning. So I put it on the doormat, as though a kind passer by had spotted it and dropped it in through the letterbox. That will suffice as my good deed for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.