Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Goosander

What a beautiful morning. Decided that a 90 minute round trip was not a good idea after all so didn't get to Brockholes, but I did have a few hours at Pennington flash instead. 

On the lookout for a new bird for my list, I was disappointed not to locate the redwings but had a lovely walk and at Teal hide managed to see some goosanders - 4 female and a male. I've never seen a male before so this was quite a thrill - they are super looking birds with their dark green heads and lovely white feathers. 

A quick stop in the Tom Edmondson hide gave me another short encounter with a kingfisher which was a very nice bonus. 

I spent a while at the bunting hide watching the little birds, but nothing unusual was about. I could watch the tits and finches all day if I had time, but I had to get to my parents for lunch - and a lovely roast pork dinner it was too. We then spent an hour discussing university options and careers with my brothers daughter. She is 17, just passed her driving test and thinks she knows it all......but maybe one tiny little bit of information will help.....who knows...?

After having two weeks in Sweden, and with half of my team in Germany this week, I decided to cancel this weeks trip, which now means I have 2 weeks in the UK - hurrah!! 

I will try and do some catch up this evening as I've been far too busy recently to view and comment on all your lovely journals. 

Hope everyone has had a great weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.