Flowers still blooming

I joined Woodpeckers at a Christmas Market in the small village of Oakridge up on the hilltops near Chalford. Towards the end of the event it was quite quiet so I went for a short walk around the village. It is set on the edge of a steep valley and has many small old footpaths linking up the old cottages. Donkeys were used before motorised transport to bring supplies up these hillside tracks, but they aren't seen now.

I was delighted when I saw this small patch of flowers growing in the lee of one of the Cotswold stone walls. There was a drop of about twenty feet on the other side of this wall, down to the steeply descending path beyond. I think they are escapees from gardens and hadn't been deliberately planted. You might almost think it was still summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.