If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Killington reservoir.

Down into Lancashire for a regional training meeting so clearly not many chances for blipping.  Fortunately I set off with sufficient time to make my way leisurely  down there.  As I passed the Tebay services I remembered Killington Services, not because I needed the service but as a bliportunity.  If you turn away from the buildings to the very top of the car park there are two view points.

So I pulled into the car park not another car within 100 yards.  A very quick visit to both view points.  Quick because there was a very "lazy" wind and rain in the air.  As I suspected this shot of the north end of the reservoir looking towards the Howgills seemed best.

The reservoir was constructed to supply water to the Lancaster canal which is now sadly much shorter as the M6 cut it in a number of places in the 60s.   A mind boggling fact is that two earth dams hold 3,236,000,000 L of water covering 58 Hectares.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.