New Holland Honeyeater

Life is full of surprises.  I looked out the kitchen window this afternoon and this beautiful little honeyeater was having a feast on the banksia.  This is a rather wonderful variety of banksia flower and I have blipped macro versions of it before.  They really do pose for you and I think in this one the little character is eyeing off the next juicy offering.

I would love my blip buddies who read my journal tonight to head over to my big brother's journal.  Allan46 posted an image of a very special morris minor motor car.  It was my Grandad and Nanna's car and as Al said, he hadn't been in it for 60 years.  When Grandad died, Nanna gave the car to the oldest grandchild, my cousin Margaret.  I'm delighted to say that Meg has lovingly cared for the car for all those years and today my cousin very kindly met Al so that he could have a drive.  Oh I can't even start to tell you the wonderful memories this image brings back for me.  I do know though that I don't think Granddad ever got out of first gear when he left our house in Essex Street.  It used to sound like a 747 taking off and we could hear the car until it turned the corner onto the main road and that was about 500 metres away.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.