Drowned poplars...

A busy day with plenty of exercise! After dropping Alex off at the station, I came back and had a leisurely bath, and then Pete and I took Rosie out. It's quite difficult finding unflooded paths close to home, but we managed a good stretch through Thorpe Wood and along the upper path of Bluebell Wood, which gave us splendid views over the flooded valley. It was good to see some brilliant sunshine for a change which provided some dazzling reflections!

Back home, I got changed into some clean clothes and walked into Peterborough for lunch at a restauarant with the other members of our Wildlife Trust local group committee. I'd been warned not to try bringing the car in as it was the opening day of Primark, which was attrracting huge crowds. I must admit I completly fail to see the attraction of visiting a shop just when it's most likely to be heaving with the rest of humanity, but clearly I'm in the minority.

After a very pleasant couple of hours of food and conversation, I braved some of the less fraught shops in the city to make a start on the Christmas shopping. Half an hour was enough for me, and then it was off to the bus station to catch the bus home. I just missed one, and then had to wait half an hour before three came at once! I thought that only happened in jokes.

I realised that the Christmas madness was definitely in full swing when I went to fetch Alex from the station this evening, and had to queue for about twenty minutes on the Thorpe Road - no doubt more new customers for Primark!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.