horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Segovia

I'd built up a day trip to Segovia so much in my head that I was particularly pleased when my mum was happy for us to hop on a train for the visit. Funny how history repeats itself sometimes, as getting the train tickets became a saga in its own right, just like a day trip to Toledo 6 years ago. Different machines for the same train company, for different 'types' of trip, with different locations. And then each one I used crashed. So grumpy man at the ticket office (just like 6 years ago!) and we were finally sorted.

Segovia's main draw is the huge Roman Aquaduct that runs through the town, marking the start of the old town walls. And it truly is stunning, though slightly incongruously now right next to a busy little roundabout. The town itself is a rabbit warren of streets that are peppered with shops on the main routes, but perhaps more interesting off. But all are open to cars, no matter how narrow, and it becomes a bit of a pain to have to huddle to the side every few minutes.

It was turning into one of those places that I was loving one minute, and not-really-hating-but-not-taking-to the next.

So I loved visiting the Cathedral (sadly the tower was closed), and the Alcazar (castle) at the opposite ed of the old town from the aquaduct is an exercise in over-the-top architecture (see the extras). When 8 Griffon Vultures appeared from behind one of the towers, passing so close I even managed to get shots with my 85mm lens, that was a high point. The feral cats being fed by a street cleaner. The little bar we retired to before heading for our bus back to the train station. It was pleasant, without blowing me away in the end.

And yet. That aquaduct. To even touch it (which I did as we walked under on arrival), something as old and enduring as that.

A last evening wander (bringing the extras shot of Metropolis), post-mum retiring to the hotel after a HUGE dinner at a great, friendly little restaurant, and half a bottle of Rioja, finds me experiencing a first. And given the cities I've wandered late at night, it's perhaps surprising; even more so that it was on the brightly lit, and still busy at 11.30pm, Gran Via...

The young women leaning on the buildings are clearly looking out for solo guys, and so she stepped out, and walked alongside me, trying to talk me into paying for sex. I couldn't help but laugh, and carried on walking as she chatted, until we got far enough from her spot that it made sense for her to turn back.

With the blokes handing out flyers for strip clubs as well, it all started to feel like we were hitting the seedy time of night, and so back to the hotel it was, for a last sleep before heading home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.