A week's trip to Paris - for £165.20

In 1982 I was a student at the Sorbonne in Paris. Soon after I finished my exams, my granny came to visit me. My blip today is the invoice for my granny's trip. £165.20 covered all her travel, including a reclining seat on the coach, the ferry crossing, insurance, and accommodation for the whole week in a single room with a private bath.

I was prompted to blip the invoice because today Mr hazelh has been scanning some old negatives that we found at my parents' house last weekend. These include a few pictures taken by my granny of the 19 year old hazelh. I have added a couple as extras.

The first extra was taken in Paris, most likely in the Place du Tertre. Note my first ever SLR camera slung across my body (along with a surprising number of bags). In the second I am sitting on the lawn of the front garden of my granny's house in Hexham.

While Mr hazelh has had fun uncovering my past, I worked on teaching prep (mainly) on campus. I also attended a meeting at which a non-academic member of staff couldn't quite understand why academics do not take all their 30 or so days of holiday a year, and another expressed surprise that the more students we teach, the less research income we generate. These comments came within minutes of a long discussion of academic workload pressures...

Exercise today: walking (13,909 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.